top of page

A lesson in letting go

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

Courage to change the things I can,

And wisdom to know the difference."

- Reinhold Niebuhr (1892–1971) -

In life it's best to know the difference between the art of perseverance and the gift of letting go. Do what you can and let go when you've tried everything. For some people "everything" is far more than for others. This difference can be explained by the amount of stress the person is experiencing, his or her resilience, resourcefulness and coping style. But still, sometimes you just need to surrender and relax...

I always tell my clients:

"Even when it's the end of the world, you can sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee."

Meaning that even a stress reaction won't help you on such an occasion. So you can just as well sit back, relax and enjoy the show. Today my theory was put to the test. I think I passed :)


On the way back from a walk with our dogs, my husband and I were caught in a cloud-burst. Rain was coming down by the gallons, but we made it home safe and sound...and soaked. We were panting from all the running and laughing. Just as we had dried up our doggies and ourselves we discovered that water was coming into our living room through the walls! Now this would be a perfect time to panic. A lot of people would. We didn't.



We laid down towels, moved everything away from the wall, put everything that could get damaged by the water on top of other things, called to fire department to reassure ourselves that nothing else could be done and we sat down with a refreshing drink to enjoy the rest of the evening.



Meanwhile the rain calmed down a bit, giving the sewer a chance to get rid of the excessive amounts of water so it isn't gushing into the house anymore. I sat down to make the most out of this experience and share it with my dear clients and followers.

Thank you for your time. I hope you enjoyed my story. Take care!

Much love,

Kinga.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page